Veil of Doubt – Authors Edition (Gift)

$29.99

Category:

Description

When a mother is charged with murder in a town already convinced of her guilt, can defense attorney Powell Harrison find truth and justice in a legal system where innocence is not presumed?

Emily Lloyd, a young widow in Reconstruction-era Virginia, is accused of poisoning her three-year-old daughter, Maud. It isn’t the first death in her home: her husband and three other children all died of mysterious illnesses, so when Maud succumbs to an unexplained malady, the town suspects foul play. Soon Mrs. Lloyd is charged not only with poisoning the child, but with murdering her children, her husband, and her aunt.

Enter Powell Harrison, a soft-spoken, brilliant attorney who recently returned to his Virginia hometown to help his brother manage their late father’s practice. Approached to assist in Mrs. Lloyd’s defense, Harrison initially declines, worried that the infanticide case might tarnish their families reputation. But as details about the widows erratic behavior and her reclusive neighbors emerge, Harrison begins to suspect that an even more sinister truth might lurk beneath the families horrible fate and finds himself irresistibly drawn to the case.

Based on a shocking true story, Veil of Doubt is part true-crime thriller, part medical and legal procedural. Perfect for fans of Margaret Atwood’s Alias Grace and filled with rich. detail gleaned from exhaustive research, Veil of Doubt delves into the darkness of the south during Reconstruction, exposing intrigue, deception and death.


If you are looking for the perfect gift for the bookworm in your family, I have just the solution. There were only one hundred Author’s Edition copies made available, so it truly is a unique gift. And as an added bonus, I will include a personalized bookplate and a tin of either Moore’s Arsenic Mints or Lilith’s Lip Balm to go along with the book.

Just purchase the Author’s Edition, then after your purchase, enter the name(s) of the person(s) to whom you would like me to address the message. (You can skip entering your address since I will already have that info on your order).

If you’ve already purchased Veil of Doubt for gifts or you prefer to gift a softcover, no problem. You can follow the same above form and check the box indicating the format of the book(s) you purchased from another bookseller, and I’ll send signed bookplate(s) for your Christmas giving. (Please include complete address).

ALL ORDERS MUST BE PLACED NO LATER THAN DECEMBER 17. Otherwise I won’t be able to get them to you by Christmas!

[And if you order my first book MASQUE OF HONOR from my website, I’ll sign the book for you and can personalize bookplates for you as well. Just use the same form above and follow the instructions!]